Project Management in Obsidian: the Power of the Kanban

Paperless productivity with plain text flexibility

Ellane W
2 min readMar 23, 2022
Abstract pattern of multiple light blue diagonal lines curving across the screen
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

For a while I enjoyed using tags to generate a list of tasks for my daily note page, but these days I prefer a different approach.

When setting my three most important tasks of the day, I link to the Kanban board for the project in question. Backlinks show me when I worked on particular projects.

I divide my projects into Work and Personal, and put links to a Master Kanban for each of those categories on my Index page.

There’s a column for projects I’m working on Now or are Ongoing, those that are coming up Next, and the Maybes. I’m very happy with how useful these pages are to help me see which project I should be focusing on right now.

The master page contains a vision for what I’m trying to accomplish, written as if I was looking back and smiling at the completed project

I give each project its own master page and linked task page. The master page contains a vision for what I’m trying to accomplish, written as if I was looking back and smiling at the completed project, as well as useful notes and links.

--

--

Ellane W

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans