PLAIN TEXT; PAPER, LESS — PRODUCTIVITY DIGEST

PTPL 083: Markdown Formulas in the Newly Updated Obsidian Tables

It’s a nice non-essential for tracking expenses on digital paper

Ellane W
4 min readDec 18, 2023

--

Plain text, Paper, Less (PTPL) Productivity Digest, text-based image by Author

Welcome! I’m Ellane, and this is a weekly, garage-door-up summary of how I’m learning to simplify and future-proof my digital-analog workflow.

Some of my articles are behind a paywall. Paying to access them is one way to support my work, or you can click here to read for free.

Obsidian tables have had an update

People with early access to new features in Obsidian received a treat recently: tables now have Notion-like handles for easily moving rows and columns around! The Advanced Tables plugin has always been able to do this, but it sure is nice to see some table-love in the core of the app.

What I love is that everything I’m discussing today about tables, even the complicated formula stuff, is for convenience only. It’s nothing you couldn’t do manually, and it doesn’t do weird things to your Markdown.

My financial records journey

Earlier this year I tried my hand at plain text accounting using hLedger, and failed. Moved on to Beancount…

--

--

Ellane W

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans