PTPL 127 · On Backing Up Paper, and Static Websites for Tiny Archives

Plus a return to TaskPaper-style to do lists

Ellane W
2 min read5 hours ago

--

A page with stylised lines (representing text) sits at an angle on the left of the image, with text overlaying it that reads Plain text. Paper, less
PTPL image by Ellane W

When paying Medium members read articles like this one that are behind the paywall, writers like me receive a tiny portion of their subscription fee. Non-members are welcome to read for free on my blog.

Back up your paper, too!

Josh Spilker lost his paper journal at the airport a couple of months ago.

“It’s messed up my daily routine for the past week”, he wrote, “and I was hoping I’d find it. But I haven’t. So it’s time to start a new one. Keep going.”

What’s the lesson here?

— Back it up, back it up, back it up, keep it safe. Analog or digital, the mantra applies to anything you create that it would hurt to lose.

More on keeping notes in both paper and digital formats, and keeping both backed up:

Static websites for tiny archives

I recently learned the basics of HTML thanks to the work of Blake Watson and Jake Haddon who explained it…

--

--

Ellane W

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans