The Discerning Obsidian Geek’s 2022 Year In Review

With an emphasis on productivity and processes, not plugins

Ellane W
6 min readDec 30, 2022

--

Cartoon outline of a character standing on steps, reaching up to large yellow numbers saying 2022. A small butterfly hovers around the last 2, and a thick blue scribble sits at the base.
Image by Author

In this article you’ll find highlights from ten of the articles I wrote in 2022, and five of my favourite Obsidian resources from around the web.

Of the 106 stories I published this year, 75 of them at least mentioned Obsidian. Ya could say I’m a fan!

2022 was my year of learning to use the least number Obsidian plugins possible, and those, without relying on them. Of necessity this means I’m using plugins a lot less these days.

Three Big Things

  • May saw the inaugural issue of the Plain Text, Paper-Less Productivity Digest. I surprised myself by not missing a week (so far!). Episode 33 is due on January 2. Earlier episodes are no longer behind a paywall.
  • I released two sample Obsidian vaults: a daily/weekly/monthly planner, and a free Markdown KJV Bible (available here).
  • I started using iA Writer to access my vault of Markdown files on mobile devices, and on Mac for writing and sending stories straight to Medium.

Recurring Themes

Here’s a quote from 10 of my best stories of the past year. By ‘best’ I mean the ones I like more than those…

--

--

Ellane W

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans